Get To Know Coach Melissa:

What is your Coaching experience?

Coaching for me began the year after I was done playing. I missed it. I was lucky enough to go back to Cactus and assist Sue Saltzman for a year with the Varsity team. From there I decided to coach club. My first year of club coaching was with Zia coaching at the 14s level. I continued coaching club for three more years with Phoenix North Valley coaching at a 16s level. At the end of those three years, I made a decision to focus on my family. I stepped away from coaching. I was brought back into the club world by my daughter. She was ready to play club ball. After being reintroduced to club watching my daughter play, I was ready to get back to coaching. At that time, we decided to move my daughter to a new club. In that search is when we found Fortitude. I have been coaching at Fortitude every since. I am currently Impact Certified.

How long have you been a part of the Fortitude Family?

I have been with Fortitude for three great years.  My first year I was an Assistant to the 14 National team.  My second year I was the Head Coach for the 13 Regional team. Last season I was Head Coach of the 14 Regional team. 

What is your Playing experience?

I have played volleyball since I was in grade school. I played all four years at Cactus High School. While playing at Cactus I was awarded Honorable Mention my junior year, 4A All West Region 1st Team and MVP my senior year helping Cactus finish our season as State Runners Up. It wasn't until I was a sophomore in high school that I heard about Club volleyball. My sophomore year I tried out and made a team with Arizona Jrs. I continued playing club throughout high school. My second year with Sun East Jrs., and my last year back with AZ Jrs. From there I accepted a full ride to NAU. I played there only one year due to a knee injury.  I was able to play one more season with Scottsdale Community College on a full ride before my knee was done. I knew once I was done playing that I wanted to coach.

Where are you from? what states have you lived in? 

I am a Native of Arizona, born and raised here.

Are you MARRIED? Do you have any KIDS?

I have been married to my husband for 20 years and have two children, my son Preston and my daughter Hannah.

what is your Favorite food? 

My favorite food is Mexican.

What is your Favorite coffee drink?

I am not a coffee drinker, but I like tea.

What is your Favorite sport to watch? (other than volleyball) 

I enjoy watching is baseball.  My son played for many years.

What do you do Besides volleyball? 

Other than coaching, I am a stay at home mom, and enjoy watching my daughter play volleyball and hanging out with my family and friends.

Why do you love volleyball?

I love volleyball because it is a fun, quick paced sport that is always changing and evolving. My love of coaching starts with teaching girls the basic mechanics of the game, and helping them master it. Watching players grow over the season as an athlete and as a person is most rewarding. There is nothing like it. As a coach, I hope to be a positive, motivating influence on the girls